The Spring Cup was introduced in the wake of league re-organisation in 1975, as two divisions of 18 and 20 were replaced by one division of ten and two of fourteen, leaving the bottom two divisions with just 26 games.

The bottom two divisions were split into seven groups of four who would play each other home and away, with the top two from each group qualifying for the second round, along with the best two third placed teams.

Queen's were drawn in section five, along with Cowdenbeath, Hamilton and Dunfermline Athletic, and with a single win and three draws finished in second place in the group, behind Hamilton.

Queen's met Morton in the second round, drawing 1-1 at Cappielow before going down by the odd goal in five at Lesser Hampden in the second leg. The competition was eventually won by Airdrieonians, who defeated Clydebank in the final.  

The competition was not popular, and it was quickly decided that season 1976/77 would see the bottom two divisions play each each other three times, giving a total of 39 games, even though this would leave some teams playing more away than home matches, a change which meant the end of the Spring Cup after just one season.

Spring Cup Record

Back| Home